Give Me A Break Please

People fascinate me. They make me wonder about problems, situations and ideas I would never come across on my own. My inspiration and motivation for almost everything I do comes directly or indirectly from other people. When I see something cool, useful or smart I want to learn it or at least learn from it. I have some awesome friends that I love and spending time with them brings the best out in me. My family is loving and supporting, so I couldn’t ask for more.

With that being said human beings drain my energy so much. When spending time in the company of others I get mentally exhausted in a matter of hours. I can’t stand to much human stimulation at the time. At some point I just stop thinking straight and stop enjoying myself. I know this is an introvert treat. We need our alone time.

There’s a variety of activities I take on to recharge my energy. One of them is drawing or just simply doodling. My sketches and artworks are incredibly different. It’s a huge mix of styles, motives and materials. Above is two drawings from my era of patterns. The one with colours was made within the last few months, the heart is several years old. Patterns is one of the themes I’ve taken on with the most success. Here are some other examples and I have even more which haven’t been uploaded yet.

Actually I have a long list of things I like to do to relax and have some high quality me-time. Reading fiction works wonders for me as well because it let’s me escape in to a different world for a while. Currently I’m reading “Gone Girl” by Gillian Flynn. It took me almost half the book to start enjoying it, but now I’m hooked on it. Meditation worked for me a few months ago, but for some reason I stopped. Starting that again would probably benefit me. Physical activity is always a winner. If I’m physically on top I’m likely to be mentally on top as well. Orienteering is one of my favourite sports to recharge, because I’m alone, I’m busy with my body and I’m busy in my head. It’s relieving to just allow yourself to forget the rest of the world for a short amount a time.

Inspired by One-word Prompt

Leave a Reply

