Comfort Zone

Personal development is all about challenging yourself. You need to step out of your comfort zone and do something different. Improvement is largest when you are required or asked for slightly more effort and better skills than what you have already. Long ago I heard the quote:

Life begins at the end of your comfort zone

and I try to remind myself of this from time to time. Sometimes it can be a little too abstract. That’s why it’s combined with a more straight forward piece of advise in my head. It helps me to think of it in that way. So if the quote above doesn’t make much sense for you think of it like this:

Do one thing every day that scares you

Today I have definitely lived up to both of these and even more. Rarely have I had that much adrenalin pump through my veins in one day! By pushing myself to my limits and sometimes that one step further I know I will improve, which is one of my core values. I’m expanding my comfort zone and the sense of achievement I feel is incredible. Yes I was scared, I made mistakes and I even went in to shock due to part of the happenings. But this is the essens. Mistakes make you learn and concurring fear makes you braver, so it was all worth it. A detailed story will follow when I have the best pictures of my sailing adventures.

IMG_5416

My comfort zone now includes me being alone in a sailing boat

Did you do something today that scared you?

Leave a Reply

